Last Updated: Jul 19, 2016
This guide collects together various Alden Library resources to help you do research on a current event, an issue or controversy. Resources found in this guide may be helpful for many college writing assignments.
This list is a partial list of databases available to students, faculty and staff of QCC. Depending on your topic, some or all of them will contain a variety of sources including academic journal articles, magazine and newspaper articles, reference and other books, websites, statistics, images and multimedia.
- Issues & Controversies
Issues and Controversies helps researchers understand the crucial issues we face today, exploring more than 800 hot topics in business, politics, government, education, and popular culture. Updated weekly, with links to a 12-year back-file, Issues and Controversies offers in-depth articles made to inspire thought-provoking debates. This database is great for research papers and debate prep.
- CQ Researcher
CQ Researcher is for researchers seeking original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. CQ Researcher is noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Each single-themed, 12,000-word report is researched and written by a seasoned journalist. The consistent, reader-friendly organization provides researchers with an introductory overview; background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Opposing Viewpoints in Context helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more. Opposing Viewpoints in Context contains reference titles, full-text periodical and newspaper articles, pro/con viewpoint essays, primary source documents, statistical information, podcasts and images.
- Global Issues in Context
Global Issues in Context supports research using wealth of resources to explain the historical and contemporary conditions necessary to understand global issues, conflicts and events. Designed by information professionals and subject experts to support global awareness and the development of critical thinking and information literacy skills, Global Issues in Context empowers users with the tools they need to understand today’s world issues from a global perspective
- US History in Context
U.S. History in Context is a broad collection of full-text periodicals, reference works, primary documents and scholarly analysis providing a complete overview of U.S. history that covers the most-studied events, issues and current information.
- World History in Context
World History in Context is a broad collection of scholarly analysis and full-text periodicals, reference works and primary documents. World History in Context moves chronologically over 5,000 years from antiquity to the present and geographically around the globe, to ensure that the events, movements and individuals that defined, informed and shaped world history are covered with a sense of balance.
- Science in Context
Science in Context delivers integrated content from reference sources, periodical articles, images, videos, detailed experiments. Science in Context features authoritative information for assignments and projects, and provides detailed coverage of popular subjects from earth science and life science, to space, technology, mathematics and science history.